

The Vote

On this date, the United Nations General Assembly adopted Resolution 181 (see the wording of of the resolution on the Knesset's website) regarding the future administration of Palestine, determining the end of the Mandate and the establishment of two states – Jewish and Arab – according to this partition plan:



- The proposal was passed by a majority of 33 votes: the United States, Australia, Uruguay, Ecuador, Iceland, Ukraine, the Soviet Union, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, France, Czechoslovakia, Costa Rica, Canada and Sweden.
- 13 countries voted against the proposal: Iran, Afghanistan, India, Greece, Lebanon, Egypt, Syria, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Pakistan, Cuba, Turkey and Yemen.
- 10 countries abstained: Argentina, Ethiopia, United Kingdom, Honduras, Yugoslavia, Mexico, Republic of China (National China), Chile, San Salvador and Colombia.









· One country was absent: Thailand

In the Jewish community, the decision – enabled by international backing for the end of the British Mandate and the establishment of a Jewish State in the Land of Israel – was received with great spontaneous joy.



